Whom to take care of?

For me, taking care of others is easy. It’s easy to make a person’s day, care for others when sick, make them smile, help them buy something while giving them the best customer service, giving great support at work and to my family. I love to spoil people and I like giving gifts rather than receiving them. So then why is it so hard for me to take care of myself?

Simple tasks suddenly become complicated for me. I dread going to bed, I hate even more waking up. The dishes for some reason are the only chore I really like to do and that’s only because I can let my mind drift into the soft soapy studs as they float into my sink that should not get as backed up as it does (my landlord STILL hasn’t taken care of the sink). It’s impossible for me to save up my money like I want to, to wake up early to edit my story and go to the gym before work like I want to, and I have the confidence the size of a peanut.

I don’t know, maybe if I imagine myself another person, I can take care of that-person-who-is-me better? Is that a little freaky though?

How do you guys get through life? How do you handle the day-to-day behaviors that to me just seem so….mundane. Music helps a lot to get through the chores, but what about the struggles of going to bed and waking up? How do you guys handle that? How do you guys force yourself to go to the gym, to get out in the world a little bit, to not let people’s idiocy bring you down?

I’ve got a lot to work on this year 🙂

Been thinking a lot about it because this week (Friday the 6th actually) marks my one year anniversary at my company. Scary thought. I like anniversary’s though; it’s not so much a celebration of how long you’ve been together but rather what you can do for the next year 🙂 –> that smiley face being one of them – I abuse the poor guy!

Cheers,

Ces

One thought on “Whom to take care of?

  1. I find it so hard to go to the gym/go for a run before work so I try and do it after work.

    But if I do need to go in the morning I set a super early alarm and lie in bed for an hour or so snoozing it until I’m /fully/ awake. Then I get up. You need to hold onto the great feeling you have when at the gym. It feels good. Just getting there is the chore.

    Like

Share your awesome thoughts!

