An American Review of Doctor Who Christmas

DW1

WARNING: Contains very Mild Spoilers

So I decided to do some reviews this season of Doctor Who.

While Doctor Who might not be as popular in America, and some of my friends have not even heard of it before, I personally love it. And while I miss David Tennant as the Doctor, I’ve been countless surprised and impressed by Matt Smith and more importantly the writing of Steven Moffat.

I was very impressed with Season 5, and I have to admit, at first I wasn’t excited for A Christmas Carol when I heard the title and saw the trailer. I thought they were just going to Who-ify the classic Dickens tale and I even recalled rolling my eyes when I saw it. I thought, how unoriginal! Not only has that been done almost as much as Romeo and Juliet, but they met Dickens in Season 1! I was disappointed. I was almost not going to bother watching it.

But I’m happy to report, I was wrong!

Here is my official review. I will be grading it on the following categories: Plot, Acting, Music and Costumes, Over All Opinions. Each Category will be rated out of 5 stars.

DW2

1. Plot: I wasn’t as impressed about the beginning, and really wasn’t that impressed until we see the fish. I won’t explain too much what I thought here, because I agree with River Song about spoilers. All I can say is: you HAVE to see it! 🙂

I was happy how original the plot was, with only a nod to Dickens story. It was cute how they used it as a theme, but didn’t make it “too themey” as David Bromstead says in Color Splash.

So for plot, I rate a 3.5 out of 5 stars, would have been 5 if completely original.

2. Acting:

I loved the most of this episode I think because it was more centered around the Doctor. Don’t get me wrong. I love Karen Gillian. I love Amy Pond. And who can’t love Rory? Especially Roman Rory! But it was just a joy to see Matt Smith on his own. I think this episode confirms anyone’s doubts if he’s the Doctor or not. He’s a more fun Doctor, like David Tennant in Season 2. Not as emo as Season 3 and 4 Tennant, and not as tough as Chris in Season 1. He’s like your best friend you’ve always known, and seeing A Christmas Carol made me feel like I visited a friend I hadn’t seen in a very long time.

The kid was also a very talented child actor. I hope to see him in more TV or movies! Doctor Who seems to find the best child actors I think, a lot of shows the kids are just kind of there. But this child actor I can tell not only most likely is a fan of Doctor Who, but he also seemed to really understand the world inside this episode, like he really did live there. Kuddos to you, kid!

I give the acting 5 out of 5 stars. Both adult and kid actors were amazing! I even liked who played Abigail 🙂

Adult Kazran Sardick: Michael Gambon
Child Kazran Sardick: Laurence Belcher
Abigail: Bailey Pepper

DW3

3. Music and Costumes: Well I’ve always been a fan of Doctor Who’s music. It’s usually kind of a mystical melody and last night’s episode was no exception. I loved the song at the end, very sweet and I loved how music was part of the plot. I won’t give it away, but don’t worry, it wasn’t like the Ood’s song…it was completely original.

Costumes did a nice job. Despite the set being a bit of a rustic futuristic look, the costumes were kind of like out of the Dickens era, but that didn’t bother me. I loved how Kazran as both a kid and adult wore a bow tie to be like the Doctor. Very nice touch. And the Fez is back, huzzah! And I loved the nod to the 4th Doctor with his scarf. You know they had way too much fun with that lol.

I get why they had the sex-game jokes with Amy and Rory’s costumes, but it did kind of take away from the story a bit and so that’s the reason for my rating below. But the Fez totally made up for it!

So I give both music and costumes 4.5 out of 5 stars. I’m excited to see what they give us nice episode!

4. Over All: Well what can I say without repeating myself? I loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

I highly recommend you watch it. And thank you to BBC America for not making us Americans wait two weeks for the next episode! That was crap! Okay, so like the pirate I am I streamed online last year and last night but still, the idea behind it is stupid. So thanks for not making us wait this year! 🙂 That was the best surprise I think.

And the trailer? Looks hot! I wish we didn’t have to wait until spring, lame!

So here’s my over all rating of the Christmas 2010 special: 5 out of 5 stars! I was delightfully surprised, I laughed, I cried, I was scared out of my mind of the shark. It’s like Steven got into my mind and gave me what I wanted before I even knew what I wanted 🙂

DW4

If you guys RT this on Twitter and post a comment below, I will give you links on where you can watch the episode for free! Because it must be seen!

Thanks so much for reading, hope you enjoy! Let me hear your comments on what you thought of the latest Who episode below! Tune into the Spring for more Reviews!!

Love always,

Claire

Share your awesome thoughts!

