#motivationalmonday: Razzle Dazzle ’em! Week of 3/28

Razzle dazzle ’em
Show ’em the first rate sorcerer you are
Long as you keep ’em way off balance
How can they spot you’ve got no talent

Razzle Dazzle ’em

So Sunday I re-watched one of my most favorite musical ever: Chicago. And it’s not my favorite just because it’s title is my home city, it really is a great story. And while I’m not a fan of lying to the press, judge and jury to get away with a crime — especially murder — I do like the message behind the song ‘Razzle Dazzle’.

Basically, the message is: even if you don’t think you have talent, if you act like you’re the best, you’ll become the best.

And this can be done every day. There’s that old saying that half of success is just showing up. And that’s very true, I always believed that from job interviews to writing a story…half of succeeding is the act of doing it. The other half is divided between luck and people’s reaction.

So how does this relate to writing?

Well, if you’re stuck on something…just do it. Weather it’s the first draft or procrastinating on writing that terrifying agent query letter … just get it done! If they say no, there are other agents out there. And if you have enough Razzle Dazzle in your query letter…you’ll finally get a yes in a ‘sea of no’s’ as Roxie sings about show business. Because getting a book agent-ed is a lot like getting an acting deal.

But you’ll never get a yes if you don’t try.

So preaching is over, now time to rock! Here are some motivating music to help get your muse flowing through the week:

1. Fireflies by Owl City:

I’m really in love with this band. They have kind of a whimsical rock style of music and it’s great for the imagination:

2. Home by Matt Ryd:

And I’m not bias because I know the kid, he’s a great fresh new artist from Chicagoland, so I thought it was appropriate with a main message from the play. This song actually reminds me of my finished book the Duke’s Trumpet, so it always gets me in a writing mood:

http://www.facebook.com/mattryd#!/mattryd/posts/10150151918774066

3. Hey Sexy Lady by iSquare:

Not very familiar with this band yet, but IN LOVE with this song! Usually isn’t my cup of tea either, but this song always wakes me up and motivates me to write, so I hope it does the same for you!

Soundtracks to write to:

1. Final Ending Song for Triguin:

If you like anime, this song is for you. I finally get to finish the series Triguin and especially for my Steampunk story it has been super inspirational, so it was a no brainer that the music is also!

2. ‘Flying’ by James Howard Newton from 2003 Peter Pan:

I re-discovered this ST this weekend and omg forgot how amazing it is! Brings tears to eyes with how beautiful it is. Ready to go to Never Never Land? Second Star to the Left and Straight on ‘Til Morning…

3. Circle of Life, from the Lion King:

Beyond the animated epic sunrise lies an epic score to match it! Return to your childhood with this classic.

Well that’s it folks!

What are your writing goals this week? Or real life goals? Feel free to share them in the comments below!

My goal is to write 1k a day this week, and the office ought to be queit all week, so should be able to meet that.

Thanks again! I love my readers and Twitter followers. You guys are seriously incredible motivators so thank you for being here with me! Happy writing!

Stay Shiny,

❤ Claire

Share your awesome thoughts!

