#thoughtfulthursday: #Writers are Escape Artists #amwriting

image

So a few weeks back, Google’s home page was of Hary Houdini in cuff’s. One Tweeter who I appologize for fogetting their name, said it made Houdini look like a captured criminal. While I couldn’t agree more, it reminded me of a point I thought of during my re-write in Feb about how the point of books is to escape. I forgot this again, until today when I kind of discussed it with @awriter12. So I decided to blog about it now…before I forget again!

Because I think the secret to a bestseller isn’t if it has sparkling vampires or boy wizards…it’s the escape.

What do I mean by an escape?

Not just an escape through compelling plots and cool characters, it’s more than that. You have to make the reader wish they were there. You have to make the reader wish they had your charcters life. Or wish they were there to help your charcter save the world. Or be the one doing the saving. Or wishing they were the one getting the kiss from that handsome but sparkling vampire.

Afrer all, how many of us loved Harry Potter series so much because we all pretended we got that letter in the post accepting us to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry?

So see, if we didn’t think Hogwarts was so cool, would we have cared about the characters as much? Or is it the characters that makes Hogwarts cool?

What do you guys think? What part of any story makes you wish you were there? And if you’ve wished you were there, do you remember the stories longer? Do you tell all your friends about them?

To me, the answer is yes. Wishing sells.

Thank guys, hopes this helps and would love to hear your thoughts on the subject!

Stay Shiny,

❤ Claire

4 thoughts on “#thoughtfulthursday: #Writers are Escape Artists #amwriting

  1. I agree! Writing has to be inticing enough to invite the reader into the book world. I think it has to do with characters and the book world that makes you want to go there and be there, at least that’s what it is with me.

    Also writing a novel its something of an escape for the authors too. I write because it is therapeutic to me, if I didn’t write I’d probably be in an insane asylum. So I think that writing provides and escape for not just the readers but the writers too.

    I remember stories longer and am more likely to reread them over and over again if they make me feel like I’m there or wish I was there. 🙂

    P.S. I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts acceptance letter…it’s just…been lost in the mail for…seven years…

    Like

  2. Escape for both writer and reader is a great point.

    One of my favorite stories that reinforces this concept is Stephen King’s Dark Tower series. King drew me well into Roland the Gunslinger’s quest for The Dark Tower.

    Like

    • Hey thanks for following my blog!

      Oh really? I didn’t know that about him, that is really cool!

      Yes, very good point about being an escape for both the writer and a reader. I always found writing an escape route for me. I just hope. Achieve the same for my readers!

      Thanks for commentin guys! I always love to hear other people’s thougts! 🙂

      Like

Share your awesome thoughts!

