Don’t forget to Day Dream #amwriting

So my new YA book, Oscar Zemph and the Pegasus Express deals a lot with clouds. I mean, clouds might as well be their own character with how much the book deals with them. After researching quite a bit and plotting all month, I’m super excited for it. When I come back from L.A. or maybe in the airplane going from LAX to ORD and back again, I may or may not start writing new book. I’m so super excited.

And it’s been so fun!

On the train which I take now for my job I just sit comfortably on the top, listen from anything from Lady Gaga to some Irish jigs to various soundtracks and watch the clouds. I picture the Nimbus sucking them up and sorting out the rain and the lightning from the clouds as that’s what the Cloud Factory, A.K.A. the Nimbus does, only much more elaborate.

I’m sure I look crazy or stoned or both just staring at the sky for a good 45 min, but I don’t care. It’s been so inspiring and makes me feel like I’m five again, just watching the clouds. Only instead of picking out shapes, I’m making my own.

That’s the evolution of imagination. At first we imagine what we’re reminded of…and when we grow up we can imagine what isn’t there at all and create.

Anyway, I suppose the point of this brief post is not to sound as utterly crazy as I feel…but to remind all my fellow writers that in between plotting and researching and editing and agent hunting and query letter composing and beta reading to not forget to day dream. Just listen to music and stare out the window. If you can, just let all your trouble float away on the dandelion seeds that fly by and let your muse remain. Your problems will be there again when you return from your mind-trip, only your muse will be much more inspired.

It doesn’t have to be on the train or while traveling. Just stare and see what could be instead of what is.

Your muse will thank you for it and you will feel years younger. Imagination is the best anti-aging product there is out there. And before I sound anymore like Spongebob Squarepants, I will leave you with a good night and wish you all a safe, productive and prosperous summer!

Keep Writing,

Claire

Share your awesome thoughts!

