#coffeereviews #Starbucks Colombia Nariño

sbux

(Photo: Bag of Colombia Narnino from Starbucks.com – all rights reserved)

So yesterday, Sunday, I was feeling tired and drained thanks to the wonderful sinus season in South Carolina.

Coffee is a self-proven treatment for me in curing headaches (note: I’ve not researched any scientific evidence to prove this) – so I decided to stop at Starbucks for a lovely pick-me-up. My favorite drink lately has been a Venti coffee with two shots of espresso – what should be commonly known as a Black Eye.

I was feeling adventurous, so instead of ordering my usual Pike Place I saw the fancy script written Colombia Narino. I thought, that sounds fancy, I’ll give that a go.

Here is how Starbucks.com describes the blend:

Herbal & Layered
We went to the ends of the earth for this bean.

Well not only does the Earth have no end being in fact, round, I’d call their exhibition unsuccessful. In my opinion anyway, I didn’t go to Coffee University.

For me I enjoy a more of a high-flavor profile. I’m not sure if it just didn’t blend well with their espresso or what, but it was barely drinkable. I wasn’t about to waste a four dollar cup of coffee, so I still enjoyed it well enough. And it did wake me up. So not a total waste.

20140406_125838

(Photo: my Grande Colombia Narino Black Eye in my car.)

I’ll just be sticking to my Pike Place, Gold Coast and Yukon Gold and pretty much every other blend of Starbucks coffee, because Starbucks is still my very favorite.

I would give this blend 2.5 out of 5 stars. It was drinkable, but it didn’t make me feel blissful like many blends of coffee do. But you should try it for yourself. Every set of tastebuds is different, after all.

HOWEVER: if you order something lemon, like a lemon cake – Colombia Nariño WOULD BE AMAZING WITH LEMON.

20140406_125822

(photo: the same Grande Colombia Narino with previous green-stoppers of the past.
And crumbs, feel free to disregard them crumbs – but you know, that’s just how the cookie crumbles)

So yeah, give this blend a try. I just don’t recommend it with shots of espresso or if you prefer a milder type blend. This blend is for dark roast fans! Which is usually me, but this was a bit too bitter and not enough taste in my mind.

Have you tried this blend? What is your favorite Starbucks blend ever? What do you order when you splurge on a fancy coffee?

Share in the comments!

Have a great week everyone!

Cheers,

Claire

 

3 thoughts on “#coffeereviews #Starbucks Colombia Nariño

  1. I just wanted to recommend that if you are trying a new flavor of coffee for your blog you should really be drinking it black. Maybe order a doppio on the side, try your coffee and the. Add your shots after you have a true coffee tasting experience. I also suggest making it yourself, like in a French press because the barista who made it could have easily messed it up. At least if you make it yourself you are in full control of the recipe for success :).

    Like

Share your awesome thoughts!

