#amwriting The End = Saying goodbye to your readers #writingtip #writerwednesday 

goodbye+note

 

The End = Saying goodbye to your readers: leave a good last impression! 

I won’t give details to protect their privacy, but I recently had a negative goodbye experience. I brushed it off as them merely being tired as it was crazy early in the morning, so I didn’t let it bother me.

But it did bother me a little bit. It just sort of left a bad taste in my mouth after what was otherwise a pleasant visit. I’m still looking forward to seeing that person again, but this experience (why I love being an author, every life experience is research!) reminded me of a very important lesson.

The ending of your book is like the reader saying goodbye to your characters. Don’t leave a bad last impression.

It’s hard getting to the end. It’s hard for the writer, because sometimes we can’t believe we even made it to the end. It’s hard not knowing if it’s too rushed or if all the bases and plot-lines have been satisfied – or if you should leave it on a cliffhanger.

With all the different ways to end a novel, it’s hard to pick the *right* one. But the ending is often what people remember most. So as the Doctor says, make it a good one, eh?

Readers, how do you like to feel when you finish a book? Writers, do you struggle with closing the story? 

Comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts on all things endings 🙂

Cheers,

Claire

4 thoughts on “#amwriting The End = Saying goodbye to your readers #writingtip #writerwednesday 

  1. As a reader I discovered long ago that I go through a kind of mourning period when I finish a book (assuming it’s a good book) where it stays with me for about a week or so and I digest it. Then I get antsy and realize that I need a new book.
    As a writer, the end is a triumph. Before I sit down to think about who to give it to for critiquing or making notes for rewrites, I like to revel in the fact that it’s done–my thoughts are down on (virtual) paper and I can breathe. I try to make this coincide with a visit to a friend or a trip with my family so I can celebrate without the temptation of a screen calling me back for editing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Feminista!

      Thanks for your reply! That’s great insight. I agree about a “mourning” period. I feel the same way when I finish working on a project. I feel lost for a couple of days. I know I have many other projects to work on, but the feelings for each project are never duplicated.

      I don’t feel that way often when reading. I’m trying to work on not reading as a writing but read as a reader. It’s hard to turn off that analytical reader and just enjoy the story 🙂

      Like

  2. I always struggle with my endings – mainly the last two-three paragraphs – because I am aware of what you’ve drawn attention to here ‘that nasty taste in your mouth’ you’ve hit it spot on. No matter how fab a book has been, the last page can obliterate it all just by being rushed or cliche.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I totally agree. I get nervous when I reach the last page, and always worry if I rush it. Because I know when I read, the last chapter really can make or break a story. Like the last book I read Me, Earl and the Dying GIrl wasn’t my cup of tea for most of the book until the last chapter. The last chapter blew me away so much I gave it four stars lol.

      Like

Share your awesome thoughts!

