Secrets to Getting Things Done

gettoit

“If you spend too much time thinking about a thing, you’ll never get it done.”
Bruce Lee

This is usually true for me. I get a brand new idea for a story every day. So it’s often hard for me to focus and prioritize.

With The Quest for the Prodigy in the trusting hands of Ms. Editor Lady, it gives me some breather to focus on my other projects.

I’m so excited to be able to focus on other projects, especially with me finally finding a job. I’ll be able to write without feeling guilty about RL stuff and that is very rewarding indeed.

I also learned during my time of unemployment that I want to be a full time writer. I always knew this, but it helps motivating when one is reminded of this.

So to you I leave with this: NEVER FORGET THE END GOAL.

Remind yourself not only WHAT you want to do but WHY. When you are feeling stuck or suffering from writers block (which I believe is a very real thing), just remind yourself why you are doing what you do. Not just because you love it. Find another reason. Find a reason why you love it. Because just saying you love it is very vague, and it is easy to make excuses around something so vague. So try to pin-point why you wish to be a writer. Not just because you love writing. But what you hope to accomplish for personal reasons why you love writing.

Hope that makes sense. I realized my true reason on why I want to be a full time writer a couple of months ago and it is very motivating.

And if you get stuck on one project, try starting another. Because like Mr. Lee said, focus on just one thing and you’ll never get it done.

WHAT PROJECTS ARE YOU WORKING ON THIS WEEKEND? Share in the comments 🙂

Cheers,

Claire

 

Share your awesome thoughts!

