Give me your theories: the people in our dreams, who are they, what are they?

Inception

 

I’ve long been fascinated, and declare I will always be fascinated, by dreams.

Everyone dreams.

Those who claim to never dream, or never remember them, are either avoiding their dreams or not paying mind to them. But I bet if they did start to pay mind to them, they would begin to remember.

And whenever someone who finds out I’m an author, says I could never be an author, I say yes you can. Start by writing down your dreams. For dreams are just stories, stories in our sleep.

That said, are they just stories? I know there are whole fields of study to the meaning behind dreams, and that’s not what I’m asking.

What I’m asking is the people in your dreams. The people you never met. Those are what kind of freak me out sometimes. How real they always seem, at least, in my dreams.

inception1

Last night for example. I was having a lovely dream I was on a long flight to Paris. Why Paris, I haven’t the slightest idea. But I had in my hand a McDonald’s bag, about to enjoy a Big Mac. I was sitting behind two lovely people. A brother and a sister. I was just telling them how I gave up chips, cookies and fast food. They look at me confused when I said fast food, as I had a McDonalds bag in hand. I freak out, wondering why I would break my year of fast food with McDonalds, which would so not be worth it, and offered them my meal instead. The brother took it delightfully, and so, I made new friends.

But just how real they were, made me wonder when I woke up, why do we dream of people we don’t know? People we have never seen on the streets? Why do we dream of strangers? And why do they seem so real? Are they future characters, waiting to be told? Or is the brain just so vivid and wonderfully complicated? I quite like the mystery behind it, and it marvels me every time just how wonderful the human brain really could be.

And now that I’ve rambled, I desperately need some coffee, and shake off this feeling that I’ve missed my flight.

But I would love to hear either your strange dreams or dream theories in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Give me your theories: the people in our dreams, who are they, what are they?

    • Thanks so much, darling! Glad you enjoyed. Yeah I like that theory too. I like to keep it a mystery. The brain is just so incredible to me, it is a shame most people don’t stop to admire it more often 🙂

      Like

Share your awesome thoughts!

