13 Things I learned from Turning 30

13on30

As 13 Going on 30 is one of my favorite Rom-Com’s of all time, I decided I couldn’t resist a play-off post when my thirtieth birthday arrived today.

I usually think my birthday is neat because it’s tax day, the day Abe Lincoln was shot, and the ice-ing on the cake…day the Titanic hit the iceberg. This year, I think it’s neat (or rather, absolutely dreadful) that I am turning 30. I had my proper freak-out last week and this week, despite the pounding migraine from all this crazy weather, I decided I’m going to rock it.

So here we go. Here is the list of my lessons to me by me. Feel free to add your own life lessons / morals in the comments. I LOVE hearing new lessons and inspiration!

  1. It’s going to be okay.
  2. No really, it is. It really, truly, honestly is going to be okay.
  3. You can’t change, predict or control a lot of things, and that’s okay.
  4. Telling yourself it is okay enough times, sometimes actually makes it so.
  5. You got this.
  6. Just because the future is uncertain, doesn’t mean it is over.
  7. Not everyone makes it to thirty, so be glad you did. Every day is a gift.
  8. Plan ahead. Even if just a little bit.
  9. Budget and diet are not such bad words to consider in your daily routine.
  10. Coffee is your best friend.
  11. You are a writer. Don’t be ashamed of it. Don’t worry that you’ll never be normal again. Because let’s face it, you were never normal to begin with, and that’s okay.
  12. It’s REALLY going to be okay. Trust in the Universe. 1330
  13. Every person might not be nice, but every person is important. Treat each person with kind thoughts. Including you.

So that’s it for today. There are totally more lessons, sometimes I learn a new lesson every day. But like the title of the movie, I am sticking to 13.

Have you learned anything about yourself this year? This year I am totally going to pay attention to my Self (that is capital S), and not keep forgetting about myself as I am busy helping others. And not let these dang migraines slow me down so much!!!!

13302

4 thoughts on “13 Things I learned from Turning 30

  1. Happy birthday! Let me know how it goes as I’m up next year. 13 going on 30 is a great movie that I used to watch a lot with one of my friends. What a good reminder to give a shout out to her to arrange a new movie date!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for the birthday wish and the comment, comments are great birthday gifts ❤ YEAH! It's obviously the Universe telling you to give her a call. 13 Going On 30 is such fun! I remember seeing it in the theaters lol. And I was honestly having a 'my life is over' melt-down last week since a lot of changes are happening all at once, but I feel fine about it now. I think time will move too fast to be bothered!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your awesome thoughts!

